Bringing Home The Bacon

24 May

Does anyone else HATE cooking bacon or am I the only one?

Cooking bacon is the worst thing I do in the kitchen.  I hate the grease, the mess, the popping, the smokey-ness.  I hate it.  I have been looking to alternatives for cooking bacon, because like many people I think bacon is super yummy.

I have done some research and found three ways to make Bacon.  You do not need anything fancy to do these three methods.

The first is the type that I loathe…frying it in the frying pan.  The way that I do it, is lay strips of bacon (I cut them in half) in your pan, and fry them

Another type is baking it.  Lay the bacon out on a foil covered baking sheet, and put it in a COLD oven.  I am not sure why they suggest that but that is what they say.  Then you turn it on to 400 degrees Fahrenheit and bake it for about 17 minutes or until the bacon is golden brown but not excessively crisp.  When you remove the pan from the oven then transfer the bacon to a pan lined with paper towels to soak up the grease.  MAKE SURE YOU REMOVE IT FROM THE ORIGINAL PAN RIGHT AWAY OR IT WILL CONTINUE TO COOK.  *I am so, so trying this tomorrow!*  They also say you can undercook it and then freeze it so you can reheat it in less time.

The third method I have found is the microwave.  Line the plate with paper towels and cook it on high for 5-7 minutes or until done to your liking.  I have attempted to make bacon in the microwave on one of those special bacon cooker things, and I melted the bacon cooker in the microwave.

I am making the grocery list from tonight.  I have a big summer to do list, and I want to start crossing things off, so this weekend we will be putting up a shed in our backyard.  I will be making dinner for everyone.  I will be making my own BBQ sauce, and probably a dessert (pies in a jar) and I will also be attempting to make bread!  What a big weekend for me!

Image

Leave a Reply

