Thanks mom, I dont like the Limeade part.

27 May

When you have children you realize the funny things they come up with!  Today was one of those days.  I made this really yummy, amazing limeade for the first time. (Thank you Pioneer Woman for the recipe)

Image

Take one cup sugar
2 Liters of lemon lime soda
1 cup lime juice (freshly squeezed)
10 oz jar of maraschino cherries
Lime slices

Mix it all up in a jar, refrigerate for 30, and then serve with a ladle adding cherries to each glass!  The kids loved it, Chloe’s favorite part were the “surprises” at the bottom (the cherries), and she noticed I didnt put any lime slices in her glass she responded “Thanks mom for not giving me the limeade part, I dont like the limeade part only the surprise part” haha, kids.

I also made a “new to me” recipe today, if you can call it that, maybe its a new cooking technique.  I am really REALLY bad at making baked potatoes, I never cook them long enough, they never turn out right.  I found a recipe somewhere in the vast reaches of the internet that said to make your baked potatoes in the crock pot!  I love my crock pot its the best-invention-ever.

I scrubbed those little suckers and wrapped them up in aluminum foil, put the crock pot on low for 8 hours, and by the time the men were done doing yard work, and the steaks were cooked on the grill they were slow cooked to perfection.  The second you put pressure on them with your fork, they fell apart in baked potato yummy-ness.  I will NEVER attempt an oven baked potato again, ever.  This was a WIN.

I have also started a new recipe in the baking department (well two but we will get to the second one later)

(Amish) Friendship bread.  My mom made it for me one weekend, but never gave me a starter, and I forgot about it until my baking bug bit me.  So, you guessed it, I looked to google for a recipe.  Here is what you do…

  • 1 (.25 ounce) package active dry yeast
  • 1/4 cup warm water (110 degrees F/45 degrees C)
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour, divided
  • 3 cups white sugar, divided
  • 3 cups milk
  1. In a small bowl, dissolve yeast in water. Let stand 10 minutes. In a 2 quart container glass, plastic or ceramic container, combine 1 cup flour and 1 cup sugar. Mix thoroughly or flour will lump when milk is added. Slowly stir in 1 cup milk and dissolved yeast mixture. Cover loosely and let stand until bubbly. Consider this day 1 of the 10 day cycle. Leave loosely covered at room temperature.
  2. On days 2 thru 4; stir starter with a spoon. Day 5; stir in 1 cup flour, 1 cup sugar and 1 cup milk. Days 6 thru 9; stir only.
  3. Day 10; stir in 1 cup flour, 1 cup sugar and 1 cup milk. Remove 1 cup to make your first bread, give 2 cups to friends along with this recipe, and your favorite Amish Bread recipe. Store the remaining 1 cup starter in a container in the refrigerator, or begin the 10 day process over again (beginning with step 2).

(taken from allrecipes.com)

The problem comes when you need to give the starters away.  Here is my idea.  I am going to freeze the extra starters (you totally can safely dont worry), and then pull them out and act like you are on day 1 of the cycle.  I will be giving them away for Christmas, with a homemade recipe book of different recipes to make with the starter!  How exciting!  I will also be donating the starters and the recipe books to local churches so that they can give them away as well!

My second baking project is pies in a jar, but since they are not completed yet, you wont be getting that recipe until tomorrow!!

Let me know if you have any baking/cooking suggestions!!

Leave a Reply

