Cold brews

4 Jul

I have been MIA for a little while, life got crazy, my blog suffered.  Today I am back with a new found passion for my blogging and my growing as a homemaker, even if that means my free time is taken up by learning new things and new ways to do things.

Today I am learning the art of cold brewing coffee.  One of my online friends came to visit us this weekend.  She is someone I would love to learn from and I do learn from every day.  She cold brews her coffee and shared a jar of it with my husband.  He is a huge coffee drinker, me not so much.  I am excited to try this new way of brewing they say that it takes the bitterness away.

Right now I have three jars in the fridge brewing.  Its 1/3 cup of coffee grounds per one cup of water.  You mix it in a jar or container, and then you let it sit for 8 hours.  After 8 hours you filter the grounds out of the jar.

Then you keep it in the refidgerator.  It will keep for up to a week.  It is is best served diluted, (either a one to three ratio or a one to one ratio).  So one half cup cold brew coffee to one half cup water.  I am excited to try this. 

I will let you know the reviews after my husband trys it in the morning!

2 Responses to “Cold brews”

  1. lifeandothermisadventures July 7, 2012 at 9:11 pm #

    That sounds really interesting. I will have to try it, especially if it helps with the bitterness.

    • Mindi July 17, 2012 at 9:30 am #

      It totally took the bitterness away but don’t use flavored coffee..not good

Leave a Reply

