DIY Fabric Softener

17 Jul

I am allergic to store bought fabric softener.  I cannot use it at all, nor can I use dryer sheets.  For 7 long years my husband has complained about his clothes feeling “stiff” and I cant really do anything unless I wash his clothes seperate, and he doesnt really want that.

So I did a little research.

Vinegar is great at stripping the soap out of your clothing and softening it.  Hair condition smells yummy and is very cheap.  Here is the recipe…

6 cups VERY hot water 3 cups vinegar ($1.32 for a gallon) 2 cups conditioner (I used suave ocean breeze) ($1.98 for 22.5 ounces)

COST: 1.66 for 3 quarts.

Pour the hot water into a container with the conditioner until it dissolves.  Mix in the vinegar.  Store in containers and fill a downy ball put it in the wash.  I made my batch and it filled 3-1 quart mason jars.  Last night my husband slept on sheets washed with it and he LOVED IT!

Image

Let me know if you use this recipe and what you think…I have never used fabric softener so while this is a HUGE difference for me, I have nothing else to compare it to.

2 Responses to “DIY Fabric Softener”

  1. whatsupyournose July 19, 2012 at 7:14 pm #

    Sounds so easy and doable. Have you actually used it yet? How much would you use in a front-loading washer?

    • missmindi July 22, 2012 at 1:13 am #

      For mine I use about a 1/4 cup. I was told thats about the same amount you use of regular fabric softener.

Leave a Reply

